Grammy Awards 2017: Music Supervision Recap


The 59th Annual Grammy Awards delivered quite the ceremony last night. Filled with political messages of resistance and inclusion from both performers and presenters, tributes to the greats, and even a heartwarming and admirable moment between Beyoncé and Adele, it was definitely one for the books. And Music Supervisors Ed Gerrard, Julia Michels and Julianne Jordan would probably agree.

Mr. Ed Gerrard, who has been doing music supervision since the early nineties and worked on famous thrillers like “Scream” and “The Last House on The Left” scored a Grammy win for his latest work: Miles Ahead. An exploration of the life and music of the jazz legend Miles Davis.


(Erin Davies, Vince Wilburn, Ed Gerrard, Robert Glasper and Don Cheadle)

Best Compilation Soundtrack For Visual Media:

WINNER: Miles Ahead — (Miles Davis & Various Artists)
 — (Various Artists)
Straight Outta Compton — (Various Artists)
Suicide Squad (Collector’s Edition) — (Various Artists)
Vinyl: The Essentials Season 1 — (Various Artists)

Competing against some of the biggest films of the year, it was a rather unexpected but well deserved win. We congratulate Mr. Gerrard and hope to see more of his work being so successful in the future.

The second win of the night goes to Music Supervisors Julianne Jordan and Julia Michels. Jordan’s work includes supervision for ‘The O.C.’ and films like ‘Mr. & Mrs. Smith,’ ‘Never Back Down,’ ‘New Year’s Eve’ and ‘Valentine’s Day.’ Julia Michels has done supervision for films like ‘Marley & Me,’ ‘The Blind Side,’ and more recently, ‘Bad Moms.’ Jordan and Michels  had worked together before as executive music producers on Pitch Perfect and Pitch Perfect 2. They are clearly a match made in heaven, because this year they scored a Grammy for Justin Timberlake’s hit song “Can’t Stop The Feeling,” featured on the  Dreamworks animated film, ‘Trolls.’


(Julia and Julianne at the 4th Annual Guild of Music Supervisors Awards in 2014.)

Best Song Written For Visual Media

WINNER: “Can’t Stop The Feeling!” — Max Martin, Shellback & Justin Timberlake, songwriters (Justin Timberlake, Anna Kendrick, Gwen Stefani, James Corden, Zooey Deschanel, Walt Dohrn, Ron Funches, Caroline Hjelt, Aino Jawo, Christopher Mintz-Plasse & Kunal Nayyar), Track from: Trolls
“Heathens” — Tyler Joseph, songwriter (Twenty One Pilots), Track from: Suicide Squad
“Just Like Fire” — Oscar Holter, Max Martin, P!nk & Shellback, songwriters (P!nk), Track from: Alice Through The Looking Glass
“Purple Lamborghini” — Shamann Cooke, Sonny Moore & William Roberts, songwriters (Skrillex & Rick Ross), Track from: Suicide Squad
“Try Everything” — Mikkel S. Eriksen, Sia Furler & Tor Erik Hermansen, songwriters (Shakira), Track from: Zootopia
“The Veil” — Peter Gabriel, songwriter (Peter Gabriel), Track from: Snowden

We certainly hope that, along with their individual careers,  after hits like Pitch Perfect and this Grammy win, the dream team will continue work together and provide us with more of their talent in the future.

Congratulations to all the winners and here’s to another year of good music!!


One thought on “Grammy Awards 2017: Music Supervision Recap

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s